My Dad, Wes Pepper, as a Custom Wheat Cutter

I’ve recently been in touch with a man in Kansas who is helping me to identify the men, my dad was working with in the late 1940s and early 1950s, in this photo. I met him through Yesterday’s Tractor Company online. He is going to put me in touch with someone who lives in Lincoln and may remember my dad during that time. 🙂 I am wanting to write a biography of my dad during those years and have lots of gaps which need filling!

Left to right Harry Parson, Dale Rathbun, Delmont Jones, Wayne Wilson, and your dad Wesley Pepper.

Left to right Harry Parson, Dale Rathbun, Delmont Jones, Wayne Wilson, and your dad Wesley Pepper.

Delmont Jones was a “custom wheat cutter” and ran an operation during the harvest season from Texas or Oklahoma to Montana or North Dakota.

For More Information:
ML Harvesting (A Tribute to Max Louder [with references to Delmont Jones]) “Our family harvest operation was also published in National Geographic (August 1972 article “North With The Wheat Cutters”), which became the basis for the 1979-1980 television movie “Amber Waves” (starring, Dennis Weaver and Kurt Russell). Dennis Weaver’s character (Mid-Western Custom Harvester) was loosely based on my dad [Max Louder].”

U.S. Custom Harvesters, Inc. – Max Louder

About Teresa Rust

I am the daughter of a Kansas born farm-boy and an Oklahoman girl born during the dust bowl years. I've been married to Brad for 45 years and we have two lads and two lasses. I am now the proud grandmother of Aidan, Jacob and Mark. I love learning! My hobbies are reading, especially history and British 18th and 19th Century literature and I like to do a little knitting. I enjoy traveling and look forward to new travel adventures!
This entry was posted in Kansas, Pepper and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Dad, Wes Pepper, as a Custom Wheat Cutter

  1. rance steinbrock says:

    Hello I go to a lot of auctions and have found a picture dated 1944. there is 28 peppers,wallace and mclintock last name and one earl smith. it states property of dottie pepper Roberts. in researching it I found you and thought I would see if you had a copy or not before I misplace it. just enjoy seeing history get home. if its something you don’t have we can make arrangements to get it to you.

Tell me what you think.